Swedish Oikos Society

Swedish Oikos Society


Swedish Oikos Society

The Swedish Oikos Society (Svenska föreningen Oikos) is one of five national societies comprising the Nordic Society Oikos (NSO). It is a society for ecologists with a professional interest in ecological research, particularly those who are based in Sweden.

The society’s main activities are the biennial Swedish Oikos meetings (alternating with the NSO biennial conference) and the Oikos list - an electronic mailing list. If you are member of the society but do not have access to the list, please contact Jessica Abbott.

The society is one of the member organizations of European Ecological Federation (EEF). We can also provide financial support to workshops and courses organized by members of the society.

To join the Swedish Oikos Society and NSO go here. You can also follow us on Twitter and join our Facebook group.

The word ecology stems from the ancient Greek work 'oikos', which means house, home. Ecology is the science of how organisms (animals, plants, and microbes) interact with each other and with the environment.


Free membership for Master's students

If you are a Master's student and your supervisor is a member of NSO/Oikos Sweden you can apply for free membership. To get free membership, apply through the webpage (click button below), but do not pay the membership fee. Ask your supervisor to send an email to agnes.karlsson@su.se listing your name and confirming that you are a Master's student in his/her group. When confirmed, we will grant you free membership.



Become a member


February 10, 2021 | 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM

February 09 - 10, 2021


Our Society
Swedish Society

The biannual Swedish Oikos meeting 2023 will take place in Gothenburg from January 31 to February 1st.

Our Society

The Nordic Society Oikos welcomes Johan Nilsson as the new Executive Director of the NSO office.

Our Society

Nordic Oikos 2022 (Ecology and Evolution for a Changing World) was held in Aarhus, Denmark, on June 7–10, 2022.


Department of Ecology and Environmental Sciences

Ayco Tack

Vice President

Agnes Karlsson

Secretary and Treasurer
Deptartment of Ecology, Environment and Plant Sciences

Lars Gamfeldt

Department of Marine Sciences

Hanna Farnelid


Joachim Strengbom

Department of Ecology

Lars Hillström

Department of Biology

Anna Runemark


Nina Sletvold